Sigha “Living With Ghosts” LP [Hotflush Recordings]

After an outstanding pack of 12-inches for Scuba’s Hotflush Recordings, London DJ and producer Sigha a.k.a James Shaw confidently returns to the label with his heavily anticipated debut LP, ‘Living With Ghosts’.

For this offering he presents twelve impressive techno and ambient productions and fuses his love of classic UK techno with the contemporary sound that currently pulses through Berlin’s Berghain. Since his 2009 debut on the label, Sigha has organically shifted further and further into the straight 4/4 realm of techno, embracing the subterranean, darker soundscapes of his new production homebase, Berlin. However, hiding under all that bass, one can still hear the whisper of many long forgotten shoegaze numbers – My Bloody Valentine, Sonic Youth and Slowdive, some of Sigha’s heaviest influences, vibrate throughout.

Years of playing guitar in London bands defined Sigha’s musical start and gave him an ear for the emotive. He was able to merge both worlds after quite literally stumbling across techno by chance, igniting his love of electronic music. Ever since, he’s expertly navigated the halls of UK Garage and dub, releasing on Hotflush, Blueprint and his own fledgling imprint, Our Circular Sound, finely tuning his style, eventually landing squarely in a place where he feels most at home: techno.

Kicking off the journey is the falsely pacifying and ethereal track ‘Mirror’, a brief lull before the onslaught of melodic sonic doom that is ‘Living WIth Ghosts’. From the oscillating come-up dubbiness of ‘Ascension’ to the banging heavenliness that is ‘Puritan’, to the dripping wet, acid-licked ‘Scene Couple’, Sigha only comes up for ambient air on ‘Suspension’ before plunging back down for more. ‘Dressing for Pleasure (Ideal)’ and ‘Dressing for Pleasure (Extract)’ are both awash with the cold hallmark sounds of Regis, while the bleak, minimal surfaces of ‘Delicate’ and ‘She Kills In Ecstasy’ perfectly soundtrack the inescapable morning-after come-down, before ‘Aokigahara’ rounds off the album in an elegant soundscape. An additional track, ‘Brood’ will be released as limited vinyl-only 10″, and will never see the digital light of day.

Sigha has provided remixes for well-respected labels like CLR, Mikrowave, Metalheadz, Echocord, Steadfast and Sudden Drop, and maintains a very busy touring and production schedule. ‘Living With Ghosts’ will be given a full CD/vinyl/digital release on 19th November.

Living With Ghosts

01. Mirror
02. Ascension
03. Puritan
04. Scene Couple
05. Translate
06. Suspension
07. Dressing For Pleasure (Ideal)
08. Faith And Labour
09. Delicate
10. Dressing For Pleasure (Extract)
11. She Kills In Ecstasy
12. Aokigahara

Release date: 19th November 2012
2×12″ Version will also be available on the same release date.

The Ltd 10″ LP Sampler ‘Scene Couple / Brood’ will be released on 5th November, a vinyl-only release where the track ‘Brood’ is exclusive to the release.


, , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.